For the love of food

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens*Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens*Brown paper packages tied up with strings*These are a few of my favorite things*Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels*Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles*Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings*These are a few of my favorite things*Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes*Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes*Silver white winters that melt into springs*These are a few of my favorite things

Hidden Gems – Vancouver April 12, 2008

Filed under: Hidden Gems - Vancouver — lovemyfood @ 11:06 am

In every city, in every community, there are hidden gems when it comes to food; you have to either hear about them from someone or just stumble upon them by chance. Since I have moved to Vancouver only recently I am slowly discovering what it has to offer and want to share this on my blog so you can enjoy it as well whether you are just visiting or didn’t have a clue :)

Right near my house there is a Gelateria called Yaletown Gelato Espresso Bar, on Homer street the corner of Davie. Two large fridges full of colorful boxes of gelato – my personal heaven…By the way did you notice women like icecream much more than men do…? I wonder why….

So anyways….One fridge seems to always be filled with the water based fruit flavoured sorbettos such as wild strawberry, rose, green apple, lemon and grapefruit and the other with cream based chocolate, vanilla, malaga (rum and raisins), canollo siciliano, straciatella, tiramisu and many more changing varieties. Since I drop by fairly frequently I have met at least three different Italian guys behind the counter which was a pleasant surprise. The coffee is good too by the way.

Address : 1210 Homer Street

WWW: http://www.yaletowngelato.com/

* Open till 9pm 

Lugano swiss chocolates….oh…mmm….aaahhhh…located in Park Royal, the huge shopping complex on Marine drive, behind Whole Foods. The lady who works there is super nice, the coffee and hot chocolate are delicious and the various chocolates imported from Lugano are amazing. There are also very nice pastries as well as some frozen cakes which to be honest I have never tried. Be careful – chocolate is addictive!

WWW: http://luganochocolates.com/index.html

Photo adapted from http://germansinbc.ca/?q=node/view/176

Staying in Park Royal…Black Forest Delicatessen – a dream come true for all you carnivours out there this little place has a huge variety of autherntic German sousages, cured meats and condiments of all sorts and the owners are actually German so you feel you can trust them with the sausages. My husband returned lately from a business trip to Germany and when he saw this place he said – hmmm this looks authentic enough adding in his mind lets buy all the sausages we can carry out of here…..

*It is located inside the mall at the Market in Park Royal [M 25 – 1011 Park Royal South]

WWW: http://germansinbc.ca/?q=node/view/108 

Thats it for today, I will let you know if I find more yummi stuff…

*** I have deleted Swiss Bakery from this page as after making two return visits I found it to be disappointing and the pastries not being fresh nor good.

 

3 Responses to “Hidden Gems – Vancouver”

  1. I hope the gelato guys are still in business. :)

    We’re going to stay in Vancouver for 2 days in June before heading onto Vancouver Island’s wilderness for a week. Special thanks for the list of the recommended restaurants, we’ll definitely try a couple of them.

    • lovemyfood Says:

      I would think they are still in business though I cannot tell if they are still good or not since I haven’t been there for quite a while…
      The restaurant “bubble” on the right hand side of the blog tells you all you need to know in regards to restaurants in Vancouver. Enjoy my beloved city :)

  2. lovemyfood Says:

    P.S. Sorry it took me so long to reply – I was on vacation for three weeks :)


Leave a comment